I mean to write you earlier but...

That moment where this dude, who ghosted you several moments ago, returns.

Hi, I’m Drew. I struggle with ADHD, self-doubt, and perfectionism. These continue to impact me just like my clients. The world also interferes with my plan: changing work demands, summer plans - even my laptop died as I sat down to write this mea culpa. Regardless, I let down this responsibility. Avoidance of the problem only serves to reinforce the problem. So, this is me, hi, I’m the problem, it’s me.

Today, I’ll show you the basic learning principles behind how avoidance works and to stop it.

_______________________________________________________

Psychology Concept of the Week

Most behavior is learned and maintained through experiencing consequences. Behaviors that are reinforced increases the probability that a behavior will occur in the future. Avoidance is a type of reinforcement process.

Positive reinforcement = we acquire something from the environment (e.g., get a cookie after doing chores)

Negative reinforcement = we remove something we don’t want from the environment (e.g. avoid a spanking for not doing chores)

Avoidance is negative reinforcement. We remove ourselves from the distressing situation and the stress goes away temporarily. So, you learn if I avoid it, I feel better now. If we take the principle of loss aversion seriously, negative reinforcement is generally more powerful than positive. We would rather not lose $100 dollars than we gain $100.

_______________________________________________________

How to stop avoiding:

  • Be present

    • When you are dialed into how, you face what’s in front of you

  • Be honest with what’s before you and inside you

    • Acknowledge any emotional, mindset, or personal conflict happening

  • Be mindful

    • Don’t buy into the judgements, evaluations or excuses you think

  • Be intentional

    • If you want to bring peace, do something peaceful. Make whatever you want to happen, happen.

  • Choose best you that you have access to

    • Be the person you are: the good, bad, and ugly.

  • Fall down and get back up

    • Know that you will avoid and mess up. That can’t be avoided (pun intended.) Return daily when you notice avoidance

Practices:

Mindset:

Say to yourself: I will face challenges today. I choose my value over avoidance

Mindfulness:

Practice breathing through the impulse to avoid. Notice it. Name it.

Further Reading

Payne, S. W., & Dozier, C. L. (2013). Positive reinforcement as treatment for problem behavior maintained by negative reinforcement. Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, 46(3), 699-703.

Deleon, I. G., Neidert, P. L., Anders, B. M., & Rodriguez‐Catter, V. (2001). Choices between positive and negative reinforcement during treatment for escape‐maintained behavior. Journal of applied behavior analysis, 34(4), 521-525.

Magoon, M. A., & Critchfield, T. S. (2008). Concurrent schedules of positive and negative reinforcement: differential‐impact and differential‐outcomes hypotheses. Journal of the experimental analysis of behavior, 90(1), 1-22.

Hackenberg, T. D. (2009). Token reinforcement: A review and analysis. Journal of the experimental analysis of behavior, 91(2), 257-286.

Yechiam, E., & Hochman, G. (2013). Losses as modulators of attention: review and analysis of the unique effects of losses over gains. Psychological bulletin, 139(2), 497.

Invitation

So, what are you avoiding?

I chose to show up and create something great with my life. I hope you do too.

Thanks again,

Drew